What’s in a Name? A Lot, Apparently.

The other day, I was trying to come up with titles for the books in a new trilogy I’m working on. For some reason, titling books has always been the most difficult part of the writing process for me. Something about finding a word or phrase that accurately summarizes 80,000-100,000 other words in an interesting way eludes me.

Music has always been a huge part of my writing process, particularly with this trilogy. Early on in its conceptualization, I decided I wanted to somehow incorporate some of my musical inspiration into the titles. I wanted to take words or phrases from the lyrics of the song that most inspired me for that particular book. Unfortunately, everything I came up with sounded like the title of a cheap erotic novel.

In a state of distress, I went to talk with my brother and two friends of ours that were spending the night. I explained my dilemma, gave them a brief overview of the trilogy, and told them about my lyrical idea. After I told them the possible titles, they assured me I needed to think about it some more and then gave me some fake titular suggestions. Their proposals were not exactly appropriate, if you catch my meaning.

As for now, I think I have two of the three titles. I’m still a little iffy on the title of the first book and I’m really uncertain about the title for the last book. It’s a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

