Gatekeepers by Robert Liparulo

My creative writing instructor in high school introduced me to this author. I met him at a signing and bought his first book. This is the third book in the series. You can check it out here.

Rating: [3/5]

***Spoiler alert!***

Summary: Gatekeepers continues the King family’s quest to recover Mrs. King, who has been stolen into the past by some unknown, sinister force. However, the Kings face opposition on all sides. Not only are the forays into the past extremely dangerous, but a mysterious man named Taksidian is attempting to have the Kings removed from the house, presumably so he can use the time portals for his own nefarious purposes. Towards the beginning of the book, Taksidian even has Mr. King arrested. Soon afterwards, two men named Jesse and Keal arrive at the house. Jesse has connections to both the Kings and the house that the Kings can’t even begin to imagine. Although he offers to help the King children, they are reluctant to trust him. However, he and Keal earn their trust by saving them from one of their many evil visitors. The ending culminates in the apparent rescue of someone from the time portals and a shocking discovery about the future of mankind.

Likes: I really liked Gatekeepers, along with the whole Dreamhouse Kings series. Not only is it fast-paced and easy to read, but I feel like I never know what’s going to happen next. The house and the time portals never cease to surprise me. Additionally, the deep character development, especially that of Taksidian and Jesse, compels me to keep reading. I definitely want to find out what’s going to happen next.

Dislikes: Honestly, there wasn’t anything I didn’t like about Gatekeepers.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend any young adult (or even adult!) add Gatekeepers to their reading list. That being said, I would not necessarily recommend that younger children read it, because there are some parts that are creepy or violent. However, I believe it is perfectly suited to people in middle school on up. Please read House of Dark Shadows and Watcher in the Woods first! It even says so on the first page of Gatekeepers.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

