Divergent by Veronica Roth

I love a good dystopian book. And this is a good dystopian book. You can check it out here.

Rating: [5/5]

Summary: Divergent is set in a future version of Chicago. At the age of sixteen, everyone must choose to join one of five different factions, which each embody different virtues. For example, the Dauntless value courage, the Erudite value knowledge, the Abnegation value selflessness, the Amity value peace, and the Candor value honesty. The factions become closer than family, training their members to act according to the virtue they represent. Beatrice Prior, a member of Abnegation, finds out that she is Divergent, a dangerous trait that means she doesn’t exactly fit in to any one of the factions. Thus, she must choose between remaining in her own faction or choosing another, making sure to keep her Divergence a secret from everyone. After making her choice, she renames herself Tris. During initiation to her faction, she is trained rigorously and pushed to her very limits physically, mentally, and emotionally. Her training, along with her new friends and a budding romance, teach her the true meaning of courage and selflessness. After getting caught up in a conspiracy involving war between the factions, Tris must learn why it’s so dangerous for her to be Divergent. But what could get her killed could end up saving everyone she cares about.

Likes: I loved Divergent. Tris is a strong, independent female lead, something which I’m always excited to find. And the writing is excellent. The plot, characterization, and dialogue are all spot-on. I stayed up way too late every night reading this book; I literally could not wait to find out what would happen next. I laughed, I cried, I freaked out. I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel.

Dislikes: The only thing I didn’t like about Divergent is that it had to end. Thank the Lord for sequels!

TL;DR: As if you couldn’t tell from my review, I highly recommend this book. If you’re missing the Hunger Games, read this. If you, like me, are a fan of dystopian books, read Divergent. If you are a young adult, you must read this book immediately. Adults, you too. Trust me, you will like it. That being said, it is fairly violent and has some romantic scenes in it. Personally, I don’t have a problem with any of the book’s content, but it’s all about individual discretion.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

