The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis

This book could not have come at a better time for me. You can check it out here.

Rating: [3/5]

Summary: Lewis basically describes the four different types of love, which he defines as Affection, Friendship, Eros, and Charity. Affection he defines as love among relatives. Friendship is categorized as the attachment between friends (clearly). Eros is the love found between husbands and wives. Charity is how man loves God. Lewis also discusses how people often use the word “love” in relation to objects, such as saying, “I love pasta” or “I love that new CD.”

Likes: I liked The Four Loves quite a bit. As I mentioned before, this is a particular topic I have really been struggling with lately, and this book helped to make sense of my confusion. I’ve probably said this before too, but Lewis certainly had a gift of explaining some of the most complicated topics in a way that absolutely anyone could understand. The Four Loves also contains many of Lewis’s most famous quotes.

Dislikes: That being said, I feel like this book was a tad bit disorganized. While the chapters were clear-cut with what type of love he was going to be talking about, the content under those umbrellas seemed to be all over the place.

TL;DR: I would highly recommend The Four Loves to any Christian, C.S. Lewis fan, or anyone interested in philosophy or theology.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

