Maccation

On May 29th, my boyfriend, my mother, and I made the journey to Tulsa, OK. to see Paul McCartney play at the BOK Center. Paul has always been my favorite Beatle, and I’ve dreamed of seeing him perform live for years. In fact, it was one of my life goals. You may think that silly, but Paul McCartney’s music, and the Beatles’ music, helped me get through a particularly difficult portion of my life. I owe them a lot.

So, the seats weren’t good. But we were there, and that was the most important thing. The amazing thing about this tour is the set list. Paul played a lot of staples of his typical live show, such as “Hey Jude”, “Let it Be”, “Live and Let Die” and “Yesterday”. But! He also played a lot of songs that either have never been performed live before, or haven’t been performed live since the 60’s. Some of these were “Lovely Rita”, “Eight Days a Week”, and “Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!”

I have to admit, I did cry. Once. I broke down when he played “Paperback Writer”, because that’s the first Beatles song I ever remember hearing as a little kid, and that’s when it truly hit me that I was seeing Paul McCartney live. He also paid tribute to his late wife Linda with “Maybe I’m Amazed”, to John Lennon with “Here Today”, and to George Harrison by playing “Something” on the ukelele.

It was amazing, and if I ever get the opportunity to see him live again, I’ll be there in a heartbeat.

 

One thought on “Maccation

Leave a Reply

