My Dyslexia by Philip Schultz

This is the book-in-common at my school this year. You can check it out here.

Rating: [2/5]

Summary: My Dyslexia is a memoir by renowned poet Philip Schultz. He wasn’t diagnosed with dyslexia until he was in his fifties, when his son was diagnosed. All his life, he was bullied for being different. Despite the challenges he faced all through he school, he was determined to become a writer. The discovery of his dyslexia allowed him to move out from under the shadow of low self-esteem and labels.

Likes: My Dyslexia was interesting. It provided a fascinating perspective into the world of living with dyslexia, as well as describing the effects of bullying. The book also touched lightly on his Jewish background. His writing was clear and his voice was very distinct. It was a pretty quick and easy read. I finished it in a couple of hours.

Dislikes: I have a little bit of reluctance to critique a memoir, since it’s someone’s personal experiences. However, My Dyslexia did get a little repetitive at times. Some of it probably could have been condensed.

TL;DR: Overall, I liked My Dyslexia. I’d recommend it to anyone who’s interested in dyslexia, learning disabilities, or poetry.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My Dyslexia by Philip Schultz

Leave a Reply

