The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Oh. My. Goodness. Look up this book here right now.

Rating: [5/5]

Summary: The Fault in Our Stars follows Hazel Grace Lancaster, a young girl with terminal cancer. She attends a support group against her will, becoming acquainted with the gorgeous and charismatic Augustus Waters. Augustus pursues her relentlessly, even though Hazel can’t imagine why. The two initially bond over Hazel’s favorite book, which happens to end in the middle of a sentence. They begin a correspondence with the author of the book, who invites them to his home in Amsterdam. As they travel to Holland, Hazel fights her growing feelings for Augustus because she doesn’t want to break his heart when she inevitably dies.

Likes: This book is amazing. You probably think I’m exaggerating, but I’m really not. His writing is elegant and almost poetic at times. The character development is amazing. It’s funny and philosophical and romantic and poignant. I can’t tell you how many times this book alternately made me laugh aloud and sob uncontrollably.

Dislikes: I don’t really have anything negative to say about this book. It was definitely one of the saddest books I’ve ever read, but that’s not a bad thing.

TL;DR: I would recommend The Fault in Our Stars to anyone, really. Everyone should read this book. I don’t care who you are. Read it.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments!

5 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. I want to read this SO badly, but I haven’t bought it yet. All I want is a paperback edition… I’ll probably cave, but I really don’t like hardcovers. Weird, right?

Leave a Reply

