30 Day Challenge: Day 1

Today’s topic is the best book I have read this past year. Unfortunately, I have not gotten to read nearly as much as I would have liked this year. I’ve only got to finish about 20 books, which is dismal for me. Normally, I read double that or more in a year. However, I definitely think that out of those books I read, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky was the best.

The-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

I had heard of the book before, but had never gotten around to reading it.I bought it as a kind of spur-of-the-moment purchase at Target while I was waiting for my boyfriend’s shift to end at the neighboring Radio Shack.  Luckily, I found a place in the shoe section to sit down while I read.

Honestly, it’s hard for me to decide what I liked most about this book. I loved the letter format. It made me feel like part of the story. I relate a lot to Charlie. He’s awkward and didn’t have many friends, except for his books. He doesn’t handle confrontation well, and also had to deal with sexual abuse as a child. I felt a lot of empathy for Charlie, and the personal format of the letters made the book that much more emotional for me. And, even though it’s an incredibly emotional book, it’s also extremely funny. His friends are all eccentric and interesting and hilarious, though they also shatter your emotional well-being at times too.

In short, I think The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a fantastic, heart-wrenching, hysterical book that everyone should read if they haven’t yet.

Leave a Reply

