30 Day Challenge: Day 2

Today I’m going to be talking about a book I’ve read more than 3 times. When I was younger, I used to reread books all the time. Unfortunately, I don’t have the same kind of open schedule I used to. While I’ve read a lot of books more than 3 times, the book that really sticks out in my mind is Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer.

Artemis_Fowl_first_edition_cover

For my tenth birthday, I got a box set that included the first three books of this series. I blazed through the first book, even though I wasn’t supposed to start them until my mom read them first. Oops. I probably read Artemis Fowl 8 times or more. I lost count. I read it over and over again until the next books in the series came out, and then I read it again each time a new book was released.

I’m not sure why I read Artemis Fowl as voraciously as I did. The writing is witty and whimsical. I loved the characters. It’s full of magic, humor, action, and technology. I thought it had an excellent balance of magic and modern technology. It’s  full of wildly implausible situations that kids would find hilarious, but also has a good enough story to entice older readers. I grew up with Artemis Fowl, and that’s probably why I revisited the story so often. 

One thought on “30 Day Challenge: Day 2

Leave a Reply

