30 Day Challenge: Day 3

I know it’s a little late, but at least I did it! Right? Anyway, today’s topic is my favorite series. I have to admit, this was a really tough one for me to decide on, as I have a lot of book series that I love. I ended up deciding on Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan to serve as my favorite series, as I don’t want to have any repeats over the course of the challenge and some of the other books would fit in better elsewhere.

percy

I was a little late at reading these books. The first three had already come out. Rick Riordan came to visit my young cousin’s school, and I overheard my cousin talking about the author and the books to my aunt. After talking with him about it for a while, I eventually persuaded him to lend me the first book. I was hooked. I read the first three in rapid succession and reread them as the rest of the series was released.

As a kid, I adored Greek mythology. I used to have grand designs of being an archaeologist and studying old texts and myths and artifacts. I devoured book upon book of mythology. These books were right up my alley. They took stories and characters I was already familiar with, and told them in a different, modern way. Riordan writes with an incredible sense of humor. He does a fantastic job characterizing Percy. The writing sounds like a 12-year-old boy with ADD, though his style matures slightly as Percy does. Each book in the series adds twists and elements that all build to a climactic final book where everything is resolved. However, each book is its own story, and I never felt like I was reading filler. 

Leave a Reply

