30 Day Challenge: Day 8

This is probably going to be a really unpopular post, but I’m going to write it anyway. Today’s topic is a book that I think is overrated. I think Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice is probably the most overrated and over-hyped book I have ever had to read. I know this will offend a lot of people, because everyone is supposed to love Jane Austen. I wish I could like Pride and Prejudice, but I just can’t. Pride-and-Prejudice

I went in to it hoping that I would like it. I had read Northanger Abbey a year or so before and I absolutely despised that book. However, I was willing to give Austen another try. I was pretty disappointed. There were a couple of really funny and really sweet parts. Even I have to admit that. But most of the book was just plain boring. The writing also really wasn’t that good. My least favorite aspect of the book was the complete lack of dialogue. I don’t want to be told about a conversation; I want to read it.

It’s strange, because I love Jane Austen’s stories. I love the Pride and Prejudice movie (the one with Kiera Knightley) and The Lizzie Bennett Diaries, a really wonderful modern adaption of the story in the form of vlogs. You can check them out here. Her stories are sweet and romantic and legitimately enjoyable. I just can’t stand the way she tells them. I’m sorry if that makes anyone upset; it’s just my opinion.

 

2 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 8

Leave a Reply

