The Mysterious Plasticity of Trees by Charlotte Noble

I got this book for free on Kindle. I heard about it directly from the author herself, whom I follow on Tumblr. You can check out her blog here.

The story follows Tess, a senior at Princeton and an intern at Vanity Fair. She’s studying English in the midst of the 2008 financial crisis. Jobs are slim, and so is Tess’s bank account. While interning, she meets a married man named Daniel and begins to see him romantically, though she initially tries to resist. Searching for a job, a place to stay, and love in the middle of writing her senior thesis is almost too much for Tess, but she eventually finds her own happiness.

I try really hard not to be too harsh on books when I review them. I don’t want to be overly negative, and I appreciate the incredible difficulty of the writing process. However, I couldn’t find much to be positive about. The plot was nonexistent, the characters were unsympathetic, and, quite honestly, the writing wasn’t that good. I appreciated the modern take of trying to get a start fresh from college in this economy, especially for an English major. However, that’s probably the only aspect of the book I enjoyed.

I wouldn’t recommend The Mysterious Plasticity of Trees to anyone.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

