30 Day Challenge: Day 13

I’ve been waiting for this post. I get to talk about my favorite writer. I didn’t even have to pause to think about who it is. My favorite writer of all time J.R.R. Tolkien, author of books such as The Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit. For example, when I was applying for colleges, I often got asked who I would have dinner with if I could choose, and I always chose Tolkien without hesitation. I have been a fan of his since I was nine years old.

I first saw The Lord of the Rings movies when I was nine. We rented The Fellowship of the Ring and The Two Towers from Blockbuster, and then set out to see The Return of the King in theaters. I was mesmerized. When I got home, I was already down the path of obsession. We didn’t have any of the books, and my parents wouldn’t let me get them at first, because they thought it would be too difficult for me to read. But I begged and begged and ten year old me slogged through the trilogy, and then The Hobbit, and then The Silmarillion. I was hooked.

A lot of people get on to Tolkien for being sexist or boring to read, and I can see those points. There are exactly zero female characters in The Hobbit. However, his female characters in Lord of the Rings and even in The Silmarillion, are total badasses.  I understand why some people think he’s boring, too. He does go on and on describing details of trees or doors and whatnot. But as a writer, I love that. I have a pretty difficult time describing things in more than two or three sentences, and yet he can go on for paragraphs. I can really respect that, even though it might be overkill.

I have a lot of respect for Tolkien. He was a renowned philologist and professor of Literature and Anglo-Saxon. He did one of the best translations of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight there is, among other medieval stories. He not only developed an entire world, but established different races, different languages and dialects of languages, and entire histories for each of the peoples and regions of his world. Tolkien was meticulous.

I don’t really know what else to say about him, other than he’s probably one of my biggest inspirations as a writer.

6 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 13

  1. Sadly I am not familiar with his written work, but I can tell you that if there is one thing every writer aspires to, is to create a whole new world – to the point of where Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Star Wars (to name a few) have achieved. The lack of female characters seems realistic in this context of Middle Earth – one ridden in war, with strong traditions, and pride-stricken (with a lot of immaturity – I’m sure Gandalf will agree XD). I love Lord of The Rings, and honestly I watched the movies when I was 15 and I spent 14 hours straight looking at a screen because I couldn’t stop. Those movies changed my perception of fiction, and I understood many many references from the on – from South Park to the source of most video game content nowadays. Although if I were to write this post I’d write about J.K. Rowling, I admire your taste and am looking forward to reading your challenges! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

