30 Day Challenge: Day 14

Today I get to talk about my favorite book by J.R.R. Tolkien. That’s actually a little bit hard for me to answer in good conscience because (gasp!) I haven’t exactly read his entire body of work yet. A couple of his books are waiting patiently in my Pile. However, of the books of his that I’ve read so far, I probably have to say that The Return of the King is my favorite. trotkjrrt

I’m not really sure why it’s my favorite out of all of them. All of the books in the trilogy are amazing, in my opinion. The Return of the King just has some of my favorite scenes in The Lord of the Rings. One battle after another led up to the epic climax we’d waited nearly three books to see. But it doesn’t end there. Even when they return home, there’s more work to do. And, of course, Frodo’s departure at the end was one of the most heartbreaking moments of my childhood.

I know this isn’t the best review, but it’s been a while since I’ve read the book and it’s hard to see past my blinding childhood adoration. When it comes to The Lord of the Rings, there’s no way I can even pretend to be unbiased. I’m sorry. Also, in other news, it happens to be Tolkien’s birthday today. Happy 122nd birthday, Tolkien!

 

Leave a Reply

