30 Day Challenge: Day 15

Today, I get to talk about what books I think should be on high school and college required reading lists. This is going to be pretty hard for me, considering how different my high school experience was. Basically, I was home schooled, so most of the books I read in high school people don’t typically read until they’re in college. Likewise, many of the books that most people have to read in high school, I didn’t have to read at all.

However, I’m going to say that I think first of all, more fantasy/science fiction/dystopian books should be on the required reading lists. These types of books often always deal with the same types of themes as many pieces of “classic” literature. However, I feel that they deal with these topics in a fresher, more interesting way. That way, students might be more motivated to actually finish (or even pick up) the books.

I also think that more young adult books should be taught in schools. They too deal with the same kinds of themes which are typically taught. They also tend to be a bit easier to read. I’m not saying that it’s bad to have a challenging book; I’m just saying that it’s probably not a bad idea to intersperse them with equally intelligent books in simpler prose.

Leave a Reply

