30 Day Challenge: Day 17

Okay, yes. This one is a day late. I’m sorry, guys. Yesterday was a little crazy because of work and having to pay for school and all kinds of other little issues that all added up into me not writing a blog post. Plus, this is a hard one! I have to choose my favorite quote from my favorite book. It’s hard enough picking a favorite book, let alone a favorite quote. However, after much deliberation, I chose this quote from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green:

“My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations.”

What a beautiful quote! In the context of the story, Augustus is writing a letter to an author asking him to eulogize his terminally-ill girlfriend. He doesn’t quite know what he wants to say, so the words just spill across the page. Eventually, he admits that he can’t pull his ideas together, and then he writes my chosen quote.

It’s a feeling we all have at some point or another. We have so many ideas, so many things we want to say. But everything we do say doesn’t come out right, or it doesn’t express the hugeness of the thing inside. I’ve felt this many times before, especially when I’m writing. And what a beautiful way to express that feeling of insufficiency and frustration at not being able to say enough, or say it right.

If you’re wondering how I chose this quote out of all the others, the final decision was made by me asking myself, “Which quote would I want to tattoo on my body?” And this is the one that came to mind. Just so you know.

 

Leave a Reply

