30 Day Challenge: Day 18

And this one is on time! Sorry you have to read two of these in one day. Anyway, this time I get to talk about a book that disappointed me. I’m not sure how this differs much from a book I hated, but oh well. This one is actually really easy for me to think of. The book that probably disappointed me the most was Bram Stoker’s Dracula.dracula

To be fair, it probably wasn’t the book’s fault that I was disappointed. In today’s society, especially after the popularity of the Twilight novels, we are bombarded with vampires. I happen to like vampires quite a bit, if they’re done correctly. With all of the excitement over vampires, I looked to the book that kind of started it all. I figured it must be pretty awesome to spawn such an obsession and fixation on vampires, in addition to creating a cultural icon like Dracula.

It wasn’t. It was probably one of the most boring books I have ever read. It was a series of letters and journal entries discussing Dracula. It didn’t get interesting until the climax, and even then, it wasn’t what I expected at all. I don’t really understand how Dracula became such an important precursor for the vampires we know today based on that book.

3 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge: Day 18

  1. I don’t think it was so much the book as it was the movies that were made from it that started the popularity with vampires.

    I have a book of short stories that I liked well enough to add my own library that you might like to read if your local library carries it – “Rivals of Dracula”.

Leave a Reply

