30 Day Challenge: Day 21

We only have nine days left! I hope you’ve been enjoying this as much as I have. Today’s topic is my favorite book from childhood. I’m not sure if they mean picture book or novel or what, so I decided to go with a novel. One of my favorite series of books as a kid was A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. The one I read the most was the first one, called The Bad BeginningBadBeginning

I started reading these books when I was nine. My cousin loved them, so we bought her a couple of them for her birthday. I was curious, so I persuaded my mom to buy me the first one. I spent the majority of her party holed up in the back room reading it. Yeah, I was (and still am) that person. I thought the book was funny and sad and really, really weird. That appealed to me.

I devoured the series as quickly as I could. These books were actually my first experience with waiting for the next book to come out. They were also my first experience with nontraditional storytelling. Now that I think about it, the whole series is rife with characteristics of postmodern literature. I would definitely recommend them to anyone, with the caveat that it may not be everyone’s cup of tea.

 

Leave a Reply

