30 Day Challenge: Day 25

I’m having a really tough time with today’s blog post, actually. I’m supposed to write about a book character that I relate to. At first it was hard because I couldn’t narrow it down. I don’t like reading books when I don’t relate to a character on at least some level. Because of this, I have a lot of characters in mind. After I finally picked a character, I couldn’t write about it because I felt like I was bragging.

I probably relate the most to Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter books. She’s smart, skilled, and quite the perfectionist. She’s the one who worries about tests long before anyone else does. She’s a bookworm. She’s also loyal and brave and strong. She’s resourceful and willing to do anything to see something through. 

And while I’d like to say that all applies to me as well, that would make me incredibly pretentious. So I’m not going to say that. What I am going to say is that I realized I related to her in the first book, after she ran in the bathroom crying because Harry and Ron were gossiping about how she didn’t have any friends. When I was a kid (and, let’s face it, a young adult) I got picked on a lot for being a “smarty-pants.” I know how alienating that feels. That’s when I knew I could relate to her. 

Leave a Reply

