Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I devoured this book, as I did the first in the series. You can read my review of Divergent here and look up Insurgent here.

Rating: [5/5]

***Spoiler alert!***

Summary: The story picks up where Divergent left off. Tris, Four, and the rest of the refugees stay with Amity immediately after the attack on Abnegation. However, this reprieve is short-lived and they must flee from faction to faction as they figure out how to respond to such an attack. Tris surrenders herself to the Erudite in order to save the mass execution of other Divergent, only to be tortured and experimented on. Though she escapes, she soon discovers that the Erudite possess a powerful secret about the Divergent that would change the tide of the conflict. Unfortunately, Tris must betray those she loves the most in order to steal it.

Likes: I loved Insurgent. Like I’ve said before, I’m a sucker for dystopian novels. Insurgent is easy to read, insightful, exciting, and very emotional. The author forges deep connections between the readers and her characters. Not to mention the non-stop action.

Dislikes: I really can’t think of anything I didn’t like about this book. I basically can’t wait until the third one comes out later this year.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend Insurgent to anyone who read the first book. And if you haven’t read the first book, please read Divergent first, and then read this. You will thank me.

Leave a Reply

