The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer

The Last Guardian is the final book in the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer. Please read the rest of the series first. I read all of the Artemis Fowl books when I was a kid, so obviously I had to read the last one in the series. Even though my Government professor teased me for it. You can check out the book here.

Rating: [3/5]

***Spoiler alert!***

Summary: The Last Guardian features an old enemy breaking out of her maximum-security cell and journeying topside to wreak havoc for fairies and humans alike. She kills her younger self, causing everything she’s ever created to be destroyed, and makes a deal with the legendary Berserkers. Using the Berserkers, she plans to unleash ancient fairy magic that will destroy all of humanity. But not if Artemis Fowl and his friends can help it.

Likes: I liked The Last Guardian. It was kind of an emotional rollercoaster with all of the things the author put the characters through. Overall, it was a pretty satisfying ending to a wonderful series of books.

Dislikes: It took a while for the plot to pick up, but once it did…it really did. I was kind of hoping for more resolution with some of the characters, but that’s just the fan in me talking. I also didn’t like how the publisher changed jacket designs multiple times throughout the series. That was really frustrating, if only because I like it when my books look like they go together.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend The Last Guardian, and the rest of the series, to young and old alike. It’s a fabulous series, and I’m sad that it’s over. But it was definitely fun to grow up with.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

