The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

This is the third book in the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. Please read The Lost Hero and Son of Neptune first! I’ve been really excited to read this book. I got it over Christmas break with a couple of gift cards, and I basically read the entire book in the ten minute breaks I have been classes.

Rating: [4/5]

***Spoiler alert!***

Summary: The Mark of Athena finally finds the seven heroes on a quest together. Their mission takes them back to the old country, to Rome itself. In order to stop the Greeks and Romans from waging further war with each other, Annabeth must go on a quest from Athena, a quest no previous children of Athena have survived. Supposedly, this quest will mend the rift between the Greeks and Romans, and help Athena return to normal. Meanwhile, also in Rome, the other young demigods must stop Gaea’s minions from destroying the city and killing an old friend.

Likes: I enjoyed The Mark of Athena. I really like how distinctive all the characters are, which can sometimes be difficult to achieve in a book with lots of main characters. I also enjoyed the blending of Greek and Roman mythology, and the unique flavors of each system.

Dislikes: The only thing I didn’t like was that it felt kind of like a filler book. Not a whole lot of plot happened until the very end. That being said, I still thoroughly enjoyed it.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes Riordan’s previous work, who likes mythology, or who’s looking for a fun, exciting story.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

