The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I can’t believe I haven’t read this book yet, but anyway. I’ve read it now! You can check it out here.

Rating: [5/5]

Summary: The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a collection of letters written by Charlie to an anonymous listener. Charlie uses the letters as a coping mechanism to deal with fears and pressures of his life as a high school freshman. Though he’s quite lonely at first, he soon finds a group of friends among some of the outcast seniors. They help Charlie get outside his own head, and he tries to be as good a friend to them and help them deal with their issues as much as he can.  Charlie also finds comfort in the books his English teacher gives. His friends and his books teach him essential things about himself, though unfortunately, not all of them are good.

Likes: Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I liked the perspective the letters added. I also liked how it tackled a lot of relevant, emotional issues in a very real way. I really loved Charlie as a character. He was very much a Holden Caulfield. I also liked how the book dealt with repressed memories and their impact on people’s lives. I can relate to Charlie a lot in that respect.

Dislikes: Honestly, there wasn’t really anything I didn’t like.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend this book to just about anyone. It’s funny, heartfelt, and well-written.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Leave a Reply

