Crome Yellow by Aldous Huxley

I was excited about this book when I bought it, but my excitement quickly waned once I started reading it. You can check out this book here.

Rating: [1/5]

Summary: Crome Yellow follows the poet Denis Stone as he goes to stay for some time on the estate of Crome for a while to work on his writing. Henry and Priscilla, the couple that owns the manor, have a whole host of other interesting guests staying with them at the same time. Denis is in love with one of their other guests, a girl named Anne. She, however, does not share his affections, no matter how much Denis tries to woo her.

Likes: Crome Yellow had some interesting moments. Since the protagonist is a writer, there is a lot of discussion of the importance of writing and the magic of words. I really enjoyed these parts, as there were some fabulous quotes. I also liked the cover of my edition a lot.

Dislikes: I really didn’t care much for this book, to be totally honest. The plot was nonexistent and it was quite boring at times. Most of the characters were really irritating, though Denis did have some redeemable qualities.

TL;DR: I probably wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone unless they were a die-hard Huxley fan.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

One thought on “Crome Yellow by Aldous Huxley

Leave a Reply

