The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

I read almost all of this book while I was sick in bed with some kind of mysterious flu. Just thought you’d like to know. Anyway, you can check out this book here.

Rating: [4/5]

Summary: The Time Machine follows the story of an unnamed Time Traveler, who has built a time machine. Nobody believes that it works, so he travels back in time and reappears on the night of hosting a dinner party with his friends, where he regales them with the tales of his travels. He visited the distant future, which is inhabited by two species, the Eloi and the Morlocks. The Eloi are peaceful and friendly, while the Morlocks are more devious and violent. The Morlocks took his time machine, so the time traveler, with the help of an Eloi friend, strives to get it back.

Likes: I liked this book a lot. I really liked the concept of the Eloi and the Morlocks, and I enjoyed Weena a lot. She was definitely my favorite character.

Dislikes: The beginning and the ending of the book were  little slow going, and I don’t really like how the main character doesn’t have an actual name. That’s just a personal preference, but still. It frustrates me and makes it more difficult for me to connect with the character.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend The Time Machine to anyone who likes sci-fi. It’s a great little read.

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

