Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

I got this book on Kindle almost a year ago, and I’ve seen the movie, but I haven’t gotten around to reading it until now. You can check it out here.

Rating: [2/5]

Summary: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close follows the tale of Oskar Schell. He’s a very smart kid, but he’s a little different. His dad died in 9/11. Oskar’s having difficulty dealing with his dad’s death, until he finds a key hidden in an envelope in a vase in his dad’s closet. Oskar goes on a quest to find out what this key unlocks, learning more about himself and his family along the way.

Likes: I liked parts of this book. I liked Oskar’s narrations. They were kind of hard to get used to, because they jump around a lot, but they’re really good. He does a really good job characterizing this kid.

Dislikes: I didn’t like how the flow of the story was interrupted by random pictures or odd formatting. I understand their literary purpose in the story, but it disrupted the flow and made the book kind of annoying. I honestly can’t decide how I feel about this book. Part of me liked it, part of me didn’t.

TL;DR: I’d probably recommend this book. It was good overall. It just depends on personal preference and whether unique formatting and pictures add to or take away from your reading experience.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

