The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

After that massive cliffhanger in Mark of Athena, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book. I didn’t have time to read it among the craziness of school, work, and wedding planning, but I managed to knock it out over the course of the past few days. If you’re interested, you can check out the book here.

Rating: [3/5]

***Spoiler alert!***

Summary: Percy and Annabeth are left to navigate through Tartarus, with the hope of eventually closing the Doors of Death. With monsters and old enemies spawning all around them, it doesn’t look like they’re going to survive…until an old friend shows up. Meanwhile, on the surface, Jason, Piper, Hazel, Frank, Leo, and the newly-rescued Nico are racing to meet Percy and Annabeth on the other side, so the doors can be closed forever.

Likes: I really enjoyed all of Percy and Annabeth’s chapters. Exploring Tartarus was so intense and their scenes were always really exciting and emotional. I also really enjoyed Leo’s arc in this book. I can’t wait to see how it’s resolved in the next one.

Dislikes: I feel like maybe the author bit off a little more than he could chew by trying to give equal importance and time to all seven characters. It definitely dragged in parts, and certain sections didn’t serve the plot at all.

TL;DR: Overall, I really liked this book, even though it tended to drag in places. I would definitely recommend it to people who’ve been following the series or the Percy Jackson series, or who are interested in Greek and Roman mythology.

Agree? Disagree? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

