The Trouble with Poetry and Other Poems by Billy Collins

I got this book from the local library. After my poetry professor read some of Billy Collins’s poems to the class, I thought I would pursue him further. Since I was trying to find inspiration for poems of my own, I picked The Trouble with Poetry and Other Poems out of the packYou can check it out here.

Rating: [3/5]

Summary: This book features poems written in a simple and yet elegant style. They are often witty, or at least have humorous elements to them. His poems are also written in fairly simple, clear language. His poems are oftentimes poignant and self-reflective, even dealing with topics of writing.’.

Likes: My favorite poems in this collection were “You, Reader”, “Monday”, “Eastern Standard Time”, and “The Lanyard”. I like his poems which discuss writing, and I also liked his poems that were especially funny and witty.

Dislikes: There were a couple poems in the book which were a little difficult to understand or that didn’t really grab me.

TL;DR: I don’t really read much poetry, but I figured that if I’m going to try to write it, I should probably read it. Overall, I really enjoyed Collins’s book and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys modern poetry.

Leave a Reply

