A Sort of Adam Infant Dropped: True Myths by R. Scott Yarbrough

51l0e4JlUFL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I was lucky enough to take a Creative Writing class from the author during this past semester at school. I first heard him speak a year before that, however, at the Spring 2013 induction of my school’s English honor’s society. He spoke about writing, and about poetry. And I knew at that moment that I needed to take a class from him before I transferred. His passion for poetry and for writing is so obvious, it’s almost tangible. He taught me so much in the semester I spent with him, and went above and beyond to help me with my writing. You can check out his book of poetry here.

Rating: [4/5]

Summary: The theme of this book is mythology. The first part of the book centers on personal myths, stories from within the author’s own family. The second half focuses on universal myths, stories and ideas that are more applicable to everyone. His poems are typically in a more prosaic style and are filled with imagery and wit.

Likes: Some of my favorite poems of the book are “Ketchup,” “A Necktie and a Hijab,” “Up on the Roof,” “Because I Wrote it Down,” and “She Said It Might Improve our Marriage if I Vacuumed.”

Dislikes: There were a couple of poems that were hard for me to get into or that I didn’t really understand, but in a book of 97 poems, those were very, very, very few.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys poetry. The author has a very unique voice and style, and a passion for writing like no other.

Leave a Reply

