Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth

Four_A_Divergent_Collection_cover

Okay, so I’m gonna admit something. I went to probably  four (ha!) different bookstores and looked through every display copy of this book to see if I could find one of the ones autographed by the author. I was unsuccessful. But, despite not being autographed, this collection of short stories was perfect to read in between all my classes. You can check it out here.

Rating: [4/5]

Summary: This collection features four short stories either leading up to and including the events of Divergent. All of the stories are told from Four’s perspective. They feature Four dealing with his life in Abnegation, the process of his initiation to Dauntless, and his discovery and handling of the deeper political connections that tie the factions together. Including with the book are a few short scenes from Divergent retold from Four’s perspective, including meeting Tris for the first time.

Likes: I really enjoyed this book, for several reasons. First, I loved getting a deeper sense of Four as a character. He has such a complex, interesting backstory and it was nice to be able to explore that a little more through these stories. I also liked getting to see more of how the politics in this world work and how the factions function politically.

Dislikes: The book really had no overarching plot that bound them together. Each one stood alone. This left me feeling a little unsatisfied and lacking when I finished the book, especially because the scenes retold from Divergent are at the end. It was just a little jarring for me as a reader.

TL;DR: I would definitely read this book if you are a fan of the Divergent series, especially if you were a little disappointed with the way the series ended.

Leave a Reply

