The Children of Hurin by J.R.R. Tolkien

Children of Hurin

Tolkien is one of my favorite authors of all time. His books really made me love fantasy as a genre and have shaped and influenced more than half of my life. I read the short version of this story that’s in The Silmarillion, so I was excited to read the long version. Plus, the version I have is illustrated by Alan Lee, who did the concept art for the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit movies, so that made this nerd very happy.

Rating: [4/5]

Reading Challenge: A book with nonhuman characters

Summary: This book is an epic, which spans a whole family’s history, focusing mainly on Turin. Turin is the son of Hurin, who was captured and cursed by Melkor. After growing up with the elves and training to become a warrior, Turin goes on to have many adventures. All the while, he longs to rejoin the family he left behind.

Likes: This story is incredibly rich and detailed. The world-building, as with all of Tolkien’s works, is incredible. There are also a whole cast of deep and well-developed characters.

Dislikes: The story is a little slow to start and can be a little confusing, because Tolkien loves to change the names of people and places in traditional epic style.

TL;DR: This book is a must-read for any Tolkien fan!

4 thoughts on “The Children of Hurin by J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. I’ve only read one of Tolkien’s works, that being The Hobbit, so I’m yet to familiarise myself with the rest of his world, but I hope to do that soon—adding it to the list!

Leave a Reply

