Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

AnnaFrenchKissSmall

I was a little skeptical about reading this book at first, because I heard some mixed reviews about it. But then I found out one of my favorite book bloggers loves it, so I figured I’d give it a chance. And I’m so glad I did. Like seriously, I cannot wait to get my hands on the sequels.

Rating: [5/5]

Reading Challenge: A book set in a different country

Summary: Anna’s dad is sending her to study abroad in Paris for a year, despite the fact that her best friend and her sort-of-not-really boyfriend are still in Atlanta. Despite her misgivings, Anna quickly finds herself a part of a group of friends. And one of them is Etienne St. Clair, a postively gorgeous boy that Anna can’t help but connect with immediately. Too bad he already has a girlfriend.

Likes: First off, I absolutely loved all the characters, particularly Anna and St. Clair. They’re all quirky and different and lovable in different ways. I could really relate to Mer’s obsession with the Beatles, for one thing. Plus, the slow build of Anna and St. Clair’s relationship is absolutely excruciating and wonderful at the same time. I also loved the incredible detail of Paris and French culture. It made me want to book a ticket to Paris.

Dislikes: The whole cheating trope bothers me a little bit, but that’s more a personal preference than a legitimate criticism.

TL;DR: If you like contemporary YA, romance, or France, you will probably enjoy this book.

2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

