Five Fandom Friday: Things I’ve Bought but Haven’t Read/Watched/Played Yet

Five Fandom Friday is a weekly feature over at the Nerdy Girlie. Check out her blog! She has some really great stuff.

Okay, so anyone who knows me knows that my TBR pile is so ridiculously shameful that I had to move it to another part of the house to prevent it from falling over in the bedroom and potentially killing me or a small animal. However, the same does not hold true for TV shows, movies, or games. I only buy shows and movies if I’ve seen them and I marathon games right away if I buy them. So this post will be dedicated to a mere 5 of those things which I have not yet read.

  1. The Tolkien Reader by J.R.R. Tolkien

    It’s filled with short stories, poems, and commentaries by one of my favorite fantasy authors of all time. I can’t believe I’ve owned this book for over a year and it’s just been collecting dust.

  2. Beowulf by J.R.R. Tolkien

    Okay, so it’s not actually by Tolkien, but he translated it! I’m so excited to read his translation of the story because of how he tried to keep to the ancient epic style. Plus, it includes a short story he wrote that was supposedly inspired by the epic. Not that you can tell I’m excited, since it’s been on my shelf for 2 years.

  3. The Princess Bride by William Goldman

    I got this book at the same time as Beowulf after I ran into my ex at a bookstore. Distraught, I bought 6 brand new books without even blinking because I had more important things than money to worry about. Anyway, I love the movie and I’m hoping I love the book too.

  4. Deadeye Dick by Kurt Vonnegut

    I picked up this book God knows how long ago at my local library’s book sale. It’s one of the only books I know of that has an asexual man as the protagonist, so I’m really looking forward to seeing how Vonnegut writes that aspect of the character.

  5. Son of Sobek by Rick Riordan

    This is an e-book short story crossover of Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the Kane Chronicles. So basically it’s two of my favorite things smushed into one. And it’s been sitting on my Kindle since the day it came out.

What are some things you’ve bought but haven’t read/watched/played yet?

Leave a Reply

