Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Heroines from Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature over at The Broke and the Bookish. They have some really great stuff. You should check them out.

Okay, so I am really excited about the topic this week. I love a well-written female character more than most things. Like seriously. So this post is probably going to be difficult for me to narrow down.

  1. Eowyn from Lord of the RingsI have always admired Eowyn. She fights in order to protect her family and defend her people. I could go on and on about how much I love Eowyn, but this article basically explains everything for me.
  2. Hermione Granger from Harry PotterEveryone always makes fun of her for being bookish and on top of her studies, especially in the first book. For that reason especially, I’ve always felt that I could relate to her.
  3. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger GamesI love Katniss because of how complex a character she is. She’s such an important role model for girls and women everywhere.
  4. Annabeth Chase from Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of OlympusShe’s really tough and snarky doesn’t take nonsense from anyone. It’s so wonderful to watch her character develop through the two book series.
  5. Juliet Butler from Artemis FowlI always loved Juliet because of independent she was. Even though she was supposed to follow in her family’s footsteps and become a bodyguard, she became a professional wrestler instead. She was always true to herself.
  6. Violet Baudelaire from A Series of Unfortunate EventsShe was an incredible character who broke down a lot of stereotypes by doing something traditionally “masculine” like inventing and was basically a huge inspiration to nine year old me.
  7. Tris Prior from Divergent

    I always liked how Tris was true to herself, despite all that was going on around her. She was so selfless in the end and stuck to her beliefs even when it jeopardized her relationships with those she loved.

  8. Nasuada from the Inheritance Cycle

    She was a woman of color tasked with leading an entire rebellion in the wake of her father’s death. Even though she made decisions her people weren’t happy about, she did it for their own good and everyone was better off for it. Quite frankly, I think she’s an extremely underrated fantasy heroine.

  9. Louisa Ellis from A New England Nun

    Okay, this one seems really random, but bear with me. Louisa loves having everything just so and doesn’t want a man coming into her life and wrecking her perfect routines, so she breaks up with her fiance of 15 years to preserve her way of life. And this story was written in 1891.

  10. Mary Lennox from A Secret Garden

    This book really meant a lot to me when I was a kid. Mary taught me a lot about the healing power of nature and was a huge comfort to me after my grandmother, an avid gardener, passed away.

 Who are some of your favorite heroines?

Leave a Reply

