Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

9627755

As the finale to Stephanie Perkins’s trilogy, this book does not disappoint. My friend and I each bought this book over Spring Break to read together. We completely devoured it in the span of one weekend. The whole time, we texted each other back and forth with lots of exclamation points and general excitement. Basically, it was good. really good.

Rating: [4/5]

Reading Challenge: A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

Summary: Isla has always liked Josh, ever since freshman year. But she’s too shy to talk to him, so mostly she just admires him from afar. However, after she has her wisdom teeth out over the summer, the drugs give Isla the bit of courage she needs to approach him. After that, it seems like everything changes for Isla, and once school starts again, they start growing closer to each other.

Likes: This book is different from the other two in the series, but not in a bad way. Unlike the other books, Isla doesn’t have plans for the future and part of the plot involves her trying to figure out what she wants from life. It’s always quite, shall we say, steamier than the other books. As always, I love the author’s vibrant characters and picture-perfect settings. This book also represented high-functioning autism in a very accurate and tasteful way, which was a pleasant surprise.

Dislikes: There really wasn’t much I disliked about this book. I wished we could have seen a little more of Cricket and Lola, since Lola and the Boy Next Door had so much of Anna and Etienne, but that’s just a personal preference.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes contemporary YA, romance, or who’ve read the other books in the series. I would also recommend this series to anyone who’s looking for something light or fluffy to read.

2 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I agree I would have liked to see more from Lola and Cricket as I adored their story as well 🙂 I really enjoyed all of these books and I think my favourite one was Anna and the French Kiss 🙂 great review!

Leave a Reply

