The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

BloodOfOlympus

I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to read the conclusion to this fantastic series! For my birthday, I got a coupon for a discounted book and I hauled myself all the way to the bookstore in an ice storm to buy it. Probably not my best idea. Also now you know how long it’s been since I’ve read it. Oops.

Rating: [4/5]

Reading Challenge: A book from an author you love but haven’t read yet

Summary: In this conclusion to Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus series, the demigods prepare to face Gaea and her armies. Reyna, Nico, and Hedge are tasked with getting the Athena Parthenos back to Camp Half-Blood in an attempt to ally the Greeks and Romans against a common enemy. Meanwhile, the rest of the group goes to find Nike, Apollo, and Artemis to gather the tools they need to win the war. As the clock ticks down to Gaea’s rising, a grim reminder remains: one of them must die.

Likes: I really enjoyed the pacing of the book compared to the last two. There was a lot of action and even though the book is long, it didn’t seem like it. I’m glad Riordan chose to focus on only a couple of characters, rather than pulling in all of them. Mainly, I enjoyed the characters in this book. Especially Nico. I really enjoyed his arc and development throughout this book.

Dislikes: The foreshadowing is a little too obvious. The big twist in the plot didn’t seem like that big of a twist to me because of how obviously it was foreshadowed throughout the entire book. Plus, the ending itself seemed rather abrupt. All of the sudden, it was just over.

TL;DR: I definitely liked this book better than some of the other ones in the series. I recommend it to anyone who’s read the rest of the series or who enjoyed the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Or just if you like mythology in general.

One thought on “The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

