Henry V by William Shakespeare

37526

I’m actually seeing a production of this at my school tomorrow. I go to a woman’s university, so King Henry is genderbent. While I didn’t really enjoy reading this play as much as I have some of the others, I think I’ll like watching it more. At least, I hope so.

Rating: [2/5]

Summary: In this play, Henry has decided to invade France on the grounds that he’s very distantly related to a French monarch. Because the French government refuses to acknowledge his claim, Henry gathers an army to take control of an important port city despite the ridiculous odds facing him and his men.

Likes: Katherine is basically the only redeeming part of this play for me. Her dirty French puns in the one scene plus Henry attempting to “woo” her at the end were really the only parts of the play that I enjoyed.

Dislikes: For me, this play was very difficult to follow. The historical context of the play needs to be known in order to understand the storyline. I frankly didn’t enjoy it very much at all.

TL;DR: I don’t know if I would recommend this particular historical play.

Leave a Reply

