Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

verity

I really wasn’t sure what to expect going in to this book. Overall, I’m not a huge fan of historical fiction or of war literature (there are some exceptions of course), so I’m really not sure why I decided to buy this book in the first place. However, I’m really glad I did because it completely subverted all of my expectations and I was very pleasantly surprised.

Rating: [5/5]

Reading Challenge: A book that made you cry

Summary: Verity is an English Special Operations Executive during the beginning of World War Two. She and her best friend, the pilot Maddie, are shot down over France and Verity is taken prisoner by the Nazis. In order to stop the Nazis from torturing her, Verity agrees to tell them everything she knows. Through her account of British military secrets, she weaves a tale of how she and Maddie came to be best friends in the middle of a war.

Likes: I absolutely love the characters. Verity and Maddie are both so wonderful and different. They’re strong and brave and yet still feminine. I also really love the unreliable narrative style. It took me a little bit to get used to at first, but once I realized what the author was doing, I loved it.

Dislikes: There was a lot of military and technical jargon that was sometimes hard to get around. Plus, the beginning of the book was a little difficult for me to get into.

TL;DR: I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes war or historical fiction, or who loves strong female characters.

One thought on “Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Leave a Reply

