Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare

MuchAdomech.indd

This is probably my favorite Shakespeare play ever. I’ve seen all the film adaptations and I love every single one of them for different reasons. In high school, I even got the chance to act in this play. So I was really excited when I found out we were reading it in my Shakespeare class. Basically, I think it’s hilarious and Benedick and Beatrice are one of my most favorite fictional couples ever.

Rating: [5/5]

Reading Challenge: A classic romance

Summary: After returning home from war, Count Claudio enlists the help of his friends to win the heart of Hero. Once he is engaged to her, Don Pedro plots a distraction to keep the couple entertained while they wait to marry. They will each trick Benedick and Beatrice, sworn nemeses, into falling in love with each other. While they plan to bring this couple together, Don John, the prince’s bastard brother, has his own plot to tear Claudio and Hero apart.

Likes: Benedick and Beatrice. They are so funny and their chemistry is incredible. Plus, Shakespeare strongly hints at the back story of their relationship, which makes their banter all the more interesting.

Dislikes: Claudio’s treatment of Hero during the end of the play is pretty problematic, and the ending seemed kind of abrupt to me.

TL;DR: This is a great play and I would definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

