The Giver by Lois Lowry

cq5dam.web.1280.1280

Somehow I never got around to reading this book when I was younger. But a bunch of different people have recommended it to me over the years, and I knew right away it would be the kind of book I would like. I ended up buying it on my birthday and saved it to read over the summer as a reward to myself for finishing school.

Rating: [5/5]

Reading Challenge: A book that became a movie

Summary: Jonas is 12 years old, which means that he, along with all the other 12 year olds, will receive his job assignment. However, unlike all the other kids, Jonas isn’t sure what he wants to do or what he would even be good at. He ends up getting assigned to apprentice with the Giver. As he spends more and more time learning about the past with the Giver, he begins to see his society in a whole different way, a way that the others in his town cannot understand.

Likes: I found the world-building of this book to be the most compelling part of it. There wasn’t much of a plot, but the way the author described all the rules and history of the town made it feel like a real place. Additionally, the way that Jonas felt about the rules as he began to study with the Giver was really telling about just how messed up this dystopia really was.

Dislikes: There honestly wasn’t anything I disliked about this book.

TL;DR: This book is amazing and if you like dystopian fiction, you will like this.

2 thoughts on “The Giver by Lois Lowry

  1. I love this book. It is one of my all time favorites. I read it around the age of twelve and I rennet it being really easy to connect with Jonas despite the obvious differences in our lives. There are still parts that after all these years still give me goosebumps when I read them. This was my introduction to dystopian stories and probably cultivated my love for the genre. I am so glad you enjoyed it. Also I will never watch that movie.

Leave a Reply

