Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

51xgGEKd6oL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I got this book a couple (a bunch) of months ago for my birthday. Based on everything I’ve seen, I thought I would really enjoy this book. After all, it’s incredibly photogenic, artsy, and a little bit trippy. But ultimately, it kind of fell flat in my opinion.

Rating: [2/5]

Reading Challenge: A popular author’s first book

Goodreads Summary:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography,Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Likes: Visually, this book is stunning. All of the photographs are incredible, and in some cases, even a little chilling. After all, the fact that all of the photos in the book are authentic, unaltered vintage photographs is pretty impressive. Plus, I really liked the way that the author integrated the photos into the story itself.

Dislikes: Honestly, this book was kind of boring. The story never really grabbed me. Reading it, I felt like I kept waiting for something to happen. Also, the romance in the book was a little creepy and kind of sad, in my opinion.

TL;DR: While the idea of a novel filled with vintage photographs is appealing to me, this one didn’t really work for me in particular.

Leave a Reply

