The Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer

45432

When I was a kid, I absolutely loved the Artemis Fowl books. Seriously, I have read them more times than I think I’ve read any other book series. And I love other books that Eoin Colfer has written, so when I picked up The Supernaturalist, I thought I would really enjoy it.

Rating: [2/5]

Summary from Goodreads:

In the future, in a place called Satelite City, fourteen-year-old Cosmo Hill enters the world, unwanted by his parents. He’s sent to the Clarissa Frayne Institute for Parentally Challenged Boys, Freight class. At Clarissa Frayne, the boys are put to work by the state, testing highly dangerous products. At the end of most days, they are covered with burns, bruises, and sores. Cosmo realizes that if he doesn’t escape, he will die at this so-called orphanage. When the moment finally comes, Cosmo seizes his chance and breaks out with the help of the Supernaturalists, a motley crew of kids who all have the same special ability as Cosmo-they can see supernatural Parasites, creatures that feed on the life force of humans. The Supernaturalists patrol the city at night, hunting the Parasites in hopes of saving what’s left of humanity in Satellite City. Or so they think. The Supernaturalist soon find themselves caught in a web far more complicated than they’d imagined, when they discover a horrifying secret that will force them to question everything they believe in. Eoin Colfer has created an eerie and captivating world-part Blade Runner, part futuristic Dickens-replete with non-stop action.

Likes: I liked the characters most of all. Based on what I’ve read, Eoin Colfer always writes really funny, unique characters. The banter between Cosmo,Stefan, Mona, and Ditto made me giggle to myself at times. Plus, Mona was a Latina mechanic, so that was pretty neat.

Dislikes: The lack of worldbuilding. Like, it took place on Earth in future but there was really no explanation as to why things were that why. I get that it’s a sci-fi novel for middle-grade age people, but that doesn’t mean you get to skimp on worldbuilding. I’m thinking of some other middle-grade books like The Giver or Percy Jackson and the Olympians here. Also, the plot was kind of all over the place and difficult to follow at times. Ultimately, the lack of worldbuilding and convoluted plot made it really hard for me to get into.

2 thoughts on “The Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer

Leave a Reply

